top of page
Writer's picturealethealyons

The Stradivarius Review


I greatly enjoyed reading this book and devoured it in just a few days (not something I manage to do often). Rae's prose in her short stories is tense and gorgeous, and her novel did not disappoint with vivid imagery and plenty of twists. The main character, Mae, is often left wondering what is real and what isn't, and I have to say I was surprised at the end by some of the answers to that question.


What really stands out in this book is the queer representation. It is the first time I have read a book with a main POV that is non-binary (I'm not saying they aren't out there, just that this is my first and I don't think they're common). I really like Ollie as an individual character who just happened to use NB pronouns.


For me, the focus in this book was the characters and how they grappled with issues that were very relatable, albeit in an extreme situation. This was excellently done. Would definitely recommend.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page